The Making of The Red Sea Witch

Ever wonder if Halloween is something more than just a Holiday for candy? Could it be something more–mean something more to another person with a different background? I’m testing out this question. This year I plan on going all out, and trying my very best to push my sewing capabilities to their limits. Perhaps, this Holiday can, instead, be dedicated to personal growth.

This year I chose to do a costume based on a game that embedded itself so deeply in my heart over the course of three days, I just had to make a costume for it. Wadanohara and the Great Blue Sea is a RPG maker game where you play as a young sea witch who has to protect her hometown under the sea from invaders. The longer you play more the story develops into one of personal growth and strength. Wadanohara constantly feels as though she isn’t good enough, and that she can’t protect the sea the same way her father did.

tumblr_neybpm2xff1qkfcwbo1_500

Since WATGBS isn’t widely known to the American population, a good story that reflects the same themes is the Lion King. Both main characters lose a parent who sacrifices themselves for the greater good, and wearily takes over their duties. I would love to know more about the mysterious creator of the game. To be able to create such compelling stories one after another is truly a talent. They have created many games, but as a producer, are very hard to track down–they change their name after every title they release.  After finishing WATGBS they went under the alias of Deep Sea Prisoner, but have not been very active after releasing their most current game.

Due to Wadanohara’s ability to step up to the plate and save her town even if she thought she wasn’t good enough, I figured I should try something similar myself. I’ve decided to go for it, and push my sewing skills to their limits by putting together Wadanohara’s normal end costume.

Here is my work station and the progress I’ve made so far. I’m so inspired by the character that making this costume doesn’t seem like a challenge. The feeling you get after spending all that time pleating, sewing, or planning is rewarding in itself. This reminds much of the idea that the journey is often more rewarding than the end result.

Leave a Reply

